What's Your Take on the Value of a Personal Cycling Coach?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

JZP

by JZP

I would love to have your feedback on personal cycling coaching. I don't have any specific goals other than to become a stronger all-round cyclist, and perhaps individually (w/o a team) complete the Whistler Gran Fondo in under five hours.

I'm a 42 year-old beginner road cyclist. In five months of my own "training", I achieved an FTP of 3.0 W/kg, climbed Mount Seymour (12.16 km @ 7.4% avg. gradient as per Strava) in just under an hour, and completed the Triple Crown (112 km w/ approx. 2350 m of climbing) in seven hours. I think I can "train better/smarter" with professional guidance to complete these activities (and more) more quickly; winging it with friends' advice, online articles and YouTube videos will only take me so far.

I have an indoor trainer and have completed Zwift's 12-week "all-rounder" program. I'm happy to complete more Zwift programs (and perhaps I'll try TrainerRoad) but I'd also like more professional input, analysis, and recommendations to guide my future training regimen.

What do you think about personal cycling coaching - yay or nay (at least for now)?

Thanks!

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

GaBa

by GaBa