Better understanding low-intensity riding

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

marcusdarmstrong

by marcusdarmstrong

Hi all, I've been lurking for a while but reading the "Hour at zone 3" thread I was pretty confronted with some mistakes I was making in my own training and left with a few questions—and accordingly actually built up the motivation to register and (hopefully) educate myself a bit better.

I suppose I should start with a bit of my own athletic history. I'm 33 with a desk job. I've always been a weekend warrior type with my athletic hobbies (skiing, hiking, backpacking), and accordingly my fitness was always pretty terrible. I'd never been able to get into a cardio routine, and while I own a cheap spin bike, efforts (and similarly results) there were always inconsistent and weak. I bought my first "real bicycle" (a Canyon Grizl 7 1by) just under a year ago. At the time, I was ~82kg (I'm 176cm tall). I started riding as cross training for ski touring, as I'd booked a ski touring trip to Japan this past January and (correctly) felt woefully unprepared for it. After a pretty quick ramp into cycling on a regular basis I quickly discovered my weight was a major limiter and spent through the end of year trying to drop in time for my Japan trip, getting down to ~72kg by way of TrainerRoad (mostly focused on endurance rides) and diet. Alongside that my resting heart rate dropped from ~72 to ~57 (max of 192). That was the first time in my life I'd ever seen meaningful results from a workout routine, which was pretty incredible to me and a good motivator to stick with it.

Since the end of the ski season I've upped my volume and have seen my power rise accordingly (TrainerRoad has marked my FTP as going from ~150W [october] to ~215W [july] over this span, and my weight is down to ~70kg), but I still feel extremely limited on that front, so I've set a goal for myself to be capable of a 275W 20m average power effort.