What are low carb protein (protein) bars for? When to use them?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

synchronicity

by synchronicity

Sorry, google is not really providing the answers I'm looking for.

When I started training like 20+ years ago, these weren't really a thing, it was all about carbohydrate replenishment...
Are these meant to be for post-ride recovery or something? :?

I've taken a lot of time off the bike, mainly due to a severe tendon injury / foot reconstruction. Slowly getting back into it.
Taking a look at all the vast array of nutrition stuff available today, it's kinda mind-boggling. :shock:
vertebrae | Precision braking and shifting.
vayakora | Eco mouse mats: silk, linen, cotton, ramie, bamboo, etc.

Andrew69

by Andrew69

Low carb protein bars are a perfect weight weenie nutrition as they lighten your wallet...but not much else.
Post W/O nutrition hasnt changed that much in the last 20 years other than fast acting carbs arent required unless youre an elite athlete and need to train or perform to a high level soon after your last workout/event. Regular meals will do just as well for regular people.
If you must carb replenish after a W/O, go with chocolate milk. Proven to work, is cheap and tastes great.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

AJS914

by AJS914

20 years ago it was carbs, carbs, carbs... The importance of protein has become better known thus they now make a bar. They make a bar for everything. As Andrew above says, most people don't need a bar - just a quality balanced diet.

c60rider

by c60rider