New Bike: Roubaix or Roadmachine

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Stky

by Stky

I am being a little indecisive and could really hear some opinions on which bike to choose: BMC Roadmachine Five or 2024 Specialized Roubaix SL8 Comp.

In terms of specs I would consider them comparable because I'll likely change wheels, bars, and seat anyways because most don't fit me. Outside of that, Roubaix allows for 40mm tires and BMC is 33. I'd plan for a 32mm. BMC frame has an astm category of 2 vs teammachine with 1. I don't know what it is for the Roubaix.

And I can get them within $200 of each other so I don't see price as a motivating factor. If it was $1000 difference then maybe it would sway me one way.

2024 Roubaix has the 3.0 future shock - I have no experience with it.

How I'll use it, daily rides during the week somewhere between casual and sprints for 30-40km. Weekends mixed, with distances up to 100km+. Gravel rides for me would really be hard packed trails, not muddy and not rocky.

Opinions appreciated.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

fa63

by fa63

I strongly dislike the future shock (having seen several break in service), so my vote would be the BMC. Plus I think the BMC looks better.

mikehhhhhhh

by mikehhhhhhh

I got rid of my 2021 Roubaix because of the future shock.

If I'm honest, I didn't hate it in operation but I noticed it far more in a negative fashion than I did it having a positive impact, but that wasn't the main problem. It suffered with water ingress after just a year which meant it got sticky and eventually seized.

I was able to disassemble, clean it up, grease it and reassemble it but it was never as smooth again because the flat bearing surface was damaged from scorring and corroson, and I didn't want to spent £300+ on a new future shock, so I sold it.