Saddle advice: fighting numbness

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Ivan

by Ivan

I've tried a search but didn't get the answer I was looking for.

I've been riding Brooks saddles for over 20 years, mighty comfortable but "Big John" was numb on every ride, I just thought it was supposed to be like that. Started getting "private" problems few years back and so tested saddles with a cutout, Pro Stealth was the best for me. The thing is now, the numbness is still there and my problems are getting worse. A few weeks ago, I bought a ISM Pn 4.zero saddle, still numb down there. With all the testing, I learned that I can be comfortable on a lot of saddles, but I need one with a large cutout to give maximum pressure relief on the soft parts, I also have a fairly large saddle to bar drop, which isn't helping either I think. Anyone has any experience with this? Any saddles you could recommend for my specific problem? Does the superflow cutout from Selle Italia actualy works? Thanks.
He ride a bike instead of a car I wanna be his friend
Golden Earring - Going to the run

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Nickldn

by Nickldn

Usually numbness down there is from the saddle being too far back.

Move your saddle forward a few mm at a time until you don't get numbness. This may result in other fit issues though.

It's good you have a cutout saddle, I find that helps a lot, but can't won't get rid of numbness if the saddle is too far back.
Giant Propel Advanced SL Red Etap 11s Easton EC90 wheels CeramicSpeed BB Zipp SL70 bars 6.5kg

Vitus ZX1 CRS Campy Chorus 12s Bora WTO 45 disk brake wheels Zipp SL70 bars 7.5kg

SL8 build with Craft CS5060 Wheels in progress

ViperFFM

by ViperFFM