open mold time trial frames - 'best' options?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

joejack951

by joejack951

I'm hoping to gather some input from anyone who has done their own research or better yet owns a time trial frame (or two) from one of the open mold vendors. I'm just getting into time trials, riding a borrowed Litespeed Tachyon and looking to build something to hopefully use next season that's a bit more modern. I own a Hongfu frame so I initially inquired with them about their two time trial frame options but I don't want to settle for one of them for the sake of convenience of dealing with a known entity (to me) if there are better options available.

As far as 'better' or 'best', I'm mainly concerned with a frame, fork, seatpost, and handlebars that simply works as it should. I don't want to be dealing with slipping clamps or awkward designs that make it difficult to get a proper fit or cable routing (looking to use Di2 or EPS) that makes no sense. These things are impossible to assess from pictures. Of course, weight needs to be kept in check and a vendor that can supply a full disc rear would be a plus.

For reference, Hongfu quoted me $799 for their FM018 (http://www.hongfu-bikes.com/html_Produc ... FM018.html), a frame which aesthetically does nothing for me. Handlebars would be an additional $175 and they offered me a full disc rear bundled in with some rims and the frameset for an additional $341.

I appreciate any help in narrowing down the choices.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

mrlobber

by mrlobber

Check out this one: https://www.yoeleobike.com/t6-triathlon ... meset.html

A guy was in top3-top6 consistently in local season long TT series on this bike, so it must not be too slow :)
Minimum bike categories required in the stable: