Starting a bike servicing business

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderators: robbosmans, Moderator Team

ShadesofTi

by ShadesofTi

Hi all,

My first topic on here.

I'm unemployed due to COVID-19 and I'd like to start my own road bike servicing business. I don't have any mechanic qualifications but I've been tinkering for about 20 years and have done a lot of servicing jobs for friends. I've built many bikes and I'm passionate about the sport. I hope to get initilal customers through my cycling club and build on that.

I was just wondering if there are any mechanics (or just anyone) here that have advice to share?

I'll offer up to a full strip down and rebuild, everything regreased and tuned. Some minor repair jobs (wheel truing, seat and steerer tube cutting, recabling, Di2 upgrading et. al.).

I'll register a limited company, get the relevant insurance, have all the tools, offer pickup and dropoff in London. Road bikes exclusively for now and a high touch service.

I'd love your input.

Thanks in advance
Brad

Karvalo

by Karvalo

Demand is unreal right now so there's no better time to dive in (except for earlier this summer).

Main thing to think about really is if you have all the tools you need for all standards, and competence on stuff you don't own. Like can you do a great bleed on SRAM as well as Shimano. Then do you want to stock any parts and consumables, and if so what and how much.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

velov

by velov

Have you thought about approaching bike shops in London? I'm sure a lot of them would be working overtime to keep up with demand.

ghostinthemachine

by ghostinthemachine

Might struggle with liability insurance without any qualifications at all.
Shops would be a better starting place.

ShadesofTi

by ShadesofTi