Upgrading Zonda C17 Alloy wheelset with Prime Black Edition 38mm carbon rim brake wheels?

Wheels, Tires, Tubes, Tubeless, Tubs, Spokes, Hookless, Hubs, and more!

Moderator: robbosmans

Forum rules
The spirit of this board is to compile and organize wheels and tires related discussions.

If a new wheel tech is released, (say for example, TPU tubes, a brand new tire, or a new rim standard), feel free to start the discussion in the popular "Road". Your topic will eventually be moved here!
cnsn

by cnsn

Hello,

I am thinking to upgrade my campy zonda rim brake wheels with Prime black edition carbon 38s. Actually I am happy with Zonda C17 wheelset and I didn't use carbon wheels on rim brake before. Do you think it is worth to upgrade?

wheelbuilder

by wheelbuilder

Yes. Don't let the overly cautious frightened guys keep you away. I have been riding carbon clinchers since 2015 without a single overheating issue. This is with latex tubes also. I am a skilled descender and have avoided sustained braking but everyone should do that regardless of rim type. I also prefer smooth not etched brake tracks. Light Bicycle does a good job with the high temp resin on the falcon pro series, as does Zipp, and Bontrager Aelous D3 and XXX. Not the pro series. You will love carbon rims. Good luck.
Never cheer before you know who is winning

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

CampagYOLO

by CampagYOLO

Honestly, I'd get something deeper to really get the aero benefit over your Zonda's. Can you get a good deal on the 50mm ones?

cnsn

by cnsn

CampagYOLO wrote:
Wed Jan 17, 2024 10:25 pm
Honestly, I'd get something deeper to really get the aero benefit over your Zonda's. Can you get a good deal on the 50mm ones?