How much do you know about wheels?

Wheels, Tires, Tubes, Tubeless, Tubs, Spokes, Hookless, Hubs, and more!

Moderator: robbosmans

Forum rules
The spirit of this board is to compile and organize wheels and tires related discussions.

If a new wheel tech is released, (say for example, TPU tubes, a brand new tire, or a new rim standard), feel free to start the discussion in the popular "Road". Your topic will eventually be moved here!
Won

by Won

Hello all!
I’m a student conducting market research on cycling wheels. As a part of the research, I’m surveying how much cyclists know about bike wheels. I’d very much appreciate it if you could spare 2-3 minutes to complete some True or False questions about road bike wheels. You will get to see your score at the end and see the correct answers if you wish.

Here is the link to the survey if you are interested:
https://bit.ly/42iIc6h

Thank you all!

Bondurant

by Bondurant

A couple of things:

- When you present a scale, it's helpful to label it.
- 30 questions is a lot of my time when you're not paying me.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

MarkMcM

by MarkMcM

This reads more like a quiz than survey. However, I'd like to point out that some of these are trick questions, and some of the supposed "correct" answers are actually not correct:
Question 10/30

"Tubeless tires are considered superior to clincher tires in terms of performance because they create less friction which improves rolling resistance."
Correct answer: True
Tire rolling resistance depends on the amount of sealant, or the type and thickness of the inner tube. Multiple tests have shown that standard clinchers with latex tubes have the same rolling resistance to tubeless tires with about 1 oz. of sealant. So a tubeless tire with excess sealant may actually have more more rolling resistance than the same tire with a latex tube.