Aero roadwheels (firecrest 404's) with 30km/h

Wheels, Tires, Tubes, Tubeless, Tubs, Spokes, Hookless, Hubs, and more!

Moderator: robbosmans

Forum rules
The spirit of this board is to compile and organize wheels and tires related discussions.

If a new wheel tech is released, (say for example, TPU tubes, a brand new tire, or a new rim standard), feel free to start the discussion in the popular "Road". Your topic will eventually be moved here!
rolfo

by rolfo

Dear fellow bikers,

I'm in the market for an aditional wheelset next to my Zipp 303 Firecrest (40mm high, with 28mm Contis TR), which ride super in my Aethos. At first I thought to buy another Zipp 303 FC wheelset, as the second wheelset will be for a Crux, so they are easy exchangeable. But now I've seen the Firecrest 404's (58mm high).

I'm far from a pro and weigh 70kg. I mostly ride solo here in the flatlands, average speed about 30 Km/h.

Do such wheels make any sense? Or one will only profit from the aero gains in a group ride and with higher speeds?
I'm already sure I won't be riding the 404's in the mountains as I'm not a great descender and already feel wind with the 40mm 303's.

Thanks for your advice!

Nohands83

by Nohands83

The 404 will be faster but not very much, maybe 2-3 watts in the real world.
I found the 303 caught the wind more than I liked as well.
I brought a set of Bontrager RSL51 instead and they're so much better in the wind (even though they're deeper), I'd recommend looking at those or a set of the RSL37.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

rolfo

by rolfo

Nohands83 wrote:
Thu Jan 19, 2023 12:39 pm
That is indeed not noticable for me. One would hope for more, or get the feeling of going fast.
With that marginal gain it will probably won't weigh against handling with the crosswinds.

LouisN

by LouisN