Updated DeRosa

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

idickers

by idickers

This is my steel DeRosa with Columbus SLX tubing. I bought this frame in 1992 and built it up with Campy Super Record from an '80's Batavus Pro. I've ridden this bike for the past 30 years, and "grudgingly" updated to index shifting about 5 years ago by adding Ergo-8 levers and a Chorus rear derailleur. I love this frame and plan to keep riding this bike, and figured that after 30 years it deserved it's first new groupset. I'm thinking of upgrading to a 12-speed Campy Super Record groupset and Bora wheels.

I started riding in the mid '70's with toe clips and straps, upgraded to clipless pedals in the '80's, and figured it was time to finally do index shifting right. I am way behind the times with bike tech, so look forward to learning a lot from this forum.
Ian
DeRosa_stand.jpg

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

mike
Resident Pro

by mike

I would save the super record 12 and bora wheels for a more current frame. The classic steel derosas should use the classic shifting.

CyclingGiraffe

by CyclingGiraffe

I respectfully disagree with the above. If you are still regularly riding this bike (as opposed to having it as wall art or the occassional "conversation piece" ride) I would upgrade to modern components. IMHO, it will only make the bike lighter and ride better and likely get you better gearing as well. One thing to keep in mind regarding the wheels if you do any kind of riding in the rain, I find carbon braking surfaces to be somewhat scary in the wet, even with the "special" carbon compound pads.
Last edited by CyclingGiraffe on Thu May 11, 2023 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

gkski

by gkski