Stillside's 3950g generic road build

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

Stillside

by Stillside

Hi everyone! My name is Nick, and I'm a designer/inventor. I founded a company called TriRig that some of you know about. I still design some parts for TriRig but am not posting here in an official capacity.

Below is my idea of an ideal light bike build. While everyone will have their own opinions on what they'd do differently, I really love the bike just as it is. Probably the most controversial decision is my choice to use a TT pursuit bar as the handlebar, with no drops. I've done this on several bikes in the past and have always enjoyed it. The combo is already very light at about 250g for the bar/stem combination, and the modified TT brake levers also act as the shifters, with some downtube shifter hardware plus custom hardware made just for the task. The brakes are also custom prototypes I designed, I think they come to about 85g per brake, complete with pads and bolts. The wheelset is an Ax Lightness Ultra 25T custom modified by WeightWeenies member UpFromOne, and they clock in at an astonishing 693g for the pair.

I wasn't very good about measuring each piece for a good breakdown, but if you have any questions feel free to ask. Note, many parts on the bike are one-off, not generally available. Such as the Dash saddle/post combo - while Dash makes the best saddles and combos on the planet, this particular model isn't available for sale, but was a special commission done as a favor to me and I was asked to make clear that it isn't a regularly-available item. Same for the Fibre-Lyte ring: currently they don't make rings for the Torno crank, this was a one-off.

There are a few places I can save some grams, with a little work this could be closer to 3800g, but I'm not sure I care to go that low. I'm very happy with the bike just as it is. Thanks for looking!