Engineering bicycle part by part

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

Komarov
in the industry

by Komarov

Hi everybody!

My name is Ivan, I'm 25 (update: was 25yo) yo and live in Moscow, Russia.
I'm engineering and manufacturing the bicycle parts for a living :D Most of them end up being quite lightweight despite that the main goal is function and strength, but its just the property of well engineered composite

I'm slowly creating more and more different parts for a small bicycle brand that I co-founded and as outsource engineer for other clients. I hope to make my own frameset one day, so I figured that I'd share some of my work here to discuss because you cant get a proper oldschool holy war about bicycle stuff in places like instagramm and the truce is born in a dispute, so here I go.

I will try to tell something interesting about development and features of my recent work and because I'm an engineer I will bore everybody to hell with technical things. But good for me that every self-respecting cyclist already have a PhD at least in mechanical engineering, carbon fiber, metal alloys and theoretical physics so it will be a peace of cake for most of you.

To catch an attention I'll start with simple but very complex part as a bottlecage, here are the photos that I stole from our web-site:
1_DSC02151.jpg
1_DSC02133.jpg
We decided to make the cage open from the top to match all bottles because it turns out that they significantly vary in diameter.
But here came the problem: all carbon cages I've seen has thin and wide "wings" which hold the bottle in place (they are relatively easy to make because you can use elastic silicon mandrell).
It didn't seem to me as a proper decision because narrow but thick "wings" would be much stiffer due to the higher moment of inertia of a cross-section (ok, here we go with technicalities). But how tf should I mould them?