Cervelo R5 Disc (6.45kg)

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

Aryeh

by Aryeh

2018 Cervelo R5 Disc
Final Weight: 6.45kg

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting this kind of thread, so excuse me if I make any mistakes in the formatting.
I got this bike pre-owned from a guy that switched to gravel. I started riding a year ago, and my previous bike was a 2017 Giant Defy Advanced Pro with Ultegra Di2. I switched because I decided that I wanted a race bike instead of an endurance bike because I like chasing Strava segments, and I wanted more aggressive/aero geometry.
I got the bike at 15lbs without pedals or bottle cages, and I decided to tweak it to my liking. It came with an Easton Crankset that didn’t have a power meter, so I switched the bottom bracket to dub and got a Quarq crankset and power meter with praxis chainrings because they were lighter than the SRAM ones.
It came with an S-Works SL 90mm stem and a 420mm Easton Aero Handlebar, and I switched that to a bar stem combo because I liked the way it looked over a traditional bar and stem and it was relatively light at around 300g.
I decided to sell the Roval CLX 50 wheels it came with and get Light Bicycle WR50 instead because I wanted to run low pressure for comfort, and the 25mm internal width plus 28mm tires, helps me achieve that. (50psi~)
I switched out the saddle from a cheap saddle that it came with to the padded berk lupina, which I find very comfortable even on long rides.

Overall, I was trying to have a light bike while not sacrificing comfort and practicality too much. I probably could’ve made the bike a few hundred grams lighter with low profile wheels, skinnier tires, and a smaller cassette, but then I wouldn’t like riding my bike as much as I do, so for what I’ve got, I think 6.6kg is pretty decent.

Last edited by Aryeh on Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:04 pm, edited 7 times in total.

jbaillie

by jbaillie