Sram Red vs Shimano Dura Ace

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

nemeseri

by nemeseri

I need some first hand experiences. I've been riding shimano ultegra mechanical for 3 years now and I'm pretty happy with it. The only minor complaint is that it's not the lightest and I like the idea of a lighter bike. Now I'm about to buy a new bike and I will buy it either with Red or DA. I've never tried anything from sram for more than a parking lot ride so I have no idea how it compares to DA.

My friend has a bike with Sram Force and I didn't find it too impressive. The shifting seemed to be clunky, the brake modulation and feedback on the levers didn't feel as good as my ultegra. Maybe it's just different, I don't know.

On the other hand some of my riding buddies are on Sram Red now and they say they love it. One of them even said that he liked it much better than their previous DA (he had 7800 before).

I'd appreciate any inputs.

RussellS

by RussellS

You need to go for a day long ride on SRAM to figure out if you can tolerate it. It shifts very differently than Shimano or Campagnolo. One lever, the same lever, does both up shifting and down shifting. And some times, many times, you get the wrong one during a shift.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

fa63

by fa63

I agree with the above, really best to try for yourself if you can. Some call Sram's shifting clunky (it is firmer and noisier), but I actually prefer it over Shimano which can a bit vague. The above poster is also correct about the possibility of downshifting instead of upshifting with Double Tap, but to be honest it happened so rarely that it wasn't an issue.

Brakes were a wash for me, didn't think one was better than the other (using the same pads).

eric

by eric