What tubular with great puncture resistance ?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

muntos

by muntos

Hi,

I'm new to tubulars and for the beginning I'm searching for a very good puncture resistant tubular tire as I'm a little bit afraid of making flat on a tubular (or at least I want to avoid it as much as possible) with decent/good rolling resistance and weight (under 290 gr).
My choice would be 25mm wide.
At this moment I found Vittoria Pave CG, Veloflex Arenberg and Continental Gatorskin...

What are your recommendations ?
Last edited by muntos on Tue Nov 03, 2015 7:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Marin

by Marin

If clinchers are an indication, anything from Conti. Ride won't be as good as the alternatives though.

My recommendation would be to use a light clincher :D

natefontaine

by natefontaine

I've found the regular Sprinters to be better than gatorskins, Competition also has been doing well. I prefer the extra grip for some light service road rides with the Competition up front. I'm ~65kg, run 60f-75r on 25mm with the Sprinters and 50 mL of OrangeSeal in each tire. I just retired the rear with over 6000 km and not once did it ever go flat on a ride. The front had one puncture flat because I forgot to add sealant after 2 months of summer use, added sealant and it's still going strong after 4000 km. I've got a Corsa CXIII on the rear now, we'll see how that goes.

kgt

by kgt

Conti Sprinter gatorskin @ 25mm.
The ride quality is almost... bad but at lower pressures it's tolerable.

russianbear

by russianbear

Vittoria Corsa Elite in a 25 perhaps? Good price, butyl tubes, decent ride according to the internets.

Spincycle

by Spincycle

Vittoria Pave CG is a good tire

boysa

by boysa

kgt wrote:Conti Sprinter gatorskin @ 25mm.