lightweight cable set

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

addictR1

by addictR1

i just sent my Addict R1 into Scott to have the take a look. in the meantime, i need a new replacement shifter + brake cable set, since my old jagwire will need to be replaced.

i've heard of different brands like powercordz, alligator iLinks, nokon, or aican. but which one would you guys recommend for both lightweight and performance with SRAM RED? i've never used any of those before.. so hoping fellow WWer could chime in.

if possible one that can also support internal routing as well. i know my Addict is external, but in case if i get another frame that's internal.. i wouldn't have to ask again. ;)

thanks~

rmerka

by rmerka

Jagwire Elite links. Top notch stuff.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

addictR1

by addictR1

how light are they? do they have extended version for internal routing if needed?

rmerka

by rmerka

I have the brake ones on My R5 and S3 they seem very light but I never weighed them, sorry. The ones I used for my brakes came with about twice as many links as I needed. Are you running full length housing internally, I've never owned an Addict. They are the smoothest feeling cables I've ever used. The liner inside the links has some kind of lube in it and the cables are coated with some black stuff. Jagwire claims the housing is 20% lighter than traditional. The cables are stainless steel.

xena
Banned

by xena

If you want a light weight cable set up ,try this.
I got some old Tune MTB outer housing [ ebay] . I took off the outer casing " the black part on the outside"