Stinner Gibraltar-Disc 1x weirdo

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

cassard

by cassard

This perhaps won't be very weightwheenie for now, but my goal is to keep the bike fully built at maximum 7.7kt (17 lbs). Coming from a very loved Guru Praemio-R (that was unfortunately stolen), I decided to build a new bike. I couldn't go into the titanium world anymore with my budget, even if the insurances helped a lot, I'm still a student.

As a student job I work in a bike store as a professionnal bike fitter/custom builds mechanic. We have the opportunity to try a lot of bikes each season and this is why I couldn't go back to carbon. While beeing very performant, they feel soul-less and replaceable (in my opinion). That's why I came to the idea of a steel bike. With the new steel builder used we can get very nice frames, not to heavy, stiff, nice looking, custom geo.

after a lot of research, it came down to 2 choices. English cycles and Stinner Frameworks. Why ? couldn't really say, the overall feeling, the look of the bike, the material used (and the price a bit I admit). In one way it's a good thing that Rob's queue for a build was not until juin 2019, because I couldn't make a choice. Also, the guys at Blacksmith cycles helped me a lot ! a BIG shout-out to Mike and his team. He dealed with my very kindly, even if I became the kind of customer I hate (super picky and a **** load of back and forth with my decisions).

My idea was to get a bike in between a performance geometry road bike and a gravel bike. I do mainly road and more and more gravel. But since I still want the bike to be super responsive, I wanted to keep the geometry as tight as possible with a clearance of maximum 30mm to 32mm inflated.

In all, you go also say that the GCN steel custom bike gave me the idea : this is exactly what I was looking for !