'15 Cervelo S5 DIY Build- SRAM 1x, TriRig Omega, Flo 60's- LOTS of photos

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

DamenH85

by DamenH85

Hi Everyone-

My old Allez headset bearings broke and chewed up the fork, so I took the opportunity to upgrade to a whole new bike. I live and ride in Houston. It's very flat. I'm a pretty strong aeroweenie, which is reflected in my build.

I'm not a mechanic or anything, but I enjoy working on bikes anyhow, so I did this build by myself in my garage. As the title states, I wanted to try SRAM's Force 1 groupset along with TriRig's Omega X aero brakes and Flo Cycling's new 60mm Carbon Clinchers on an S5 frame. I didn't give much consideration to weight, but here's the list of components and weights:

Component......Weight (grams)....Notes
Frame.............982.................2015 Cervelo S5 size 51
Rear Wheel.......838..................Flo 60 Carbon Clincher w/ 11-spd hub
Front Wheel......695..................Flo 60 Carbon Clincher
Crankset..........644..................SRAM Force1, 52T chainring, 165mm cranks
Pedals.............438..................PowerTap P1 w/ AAA batteries
Fork...............367..................Cervelo S5, uncut, with insert and star nut
Chain..............277..................SRAM PC-1170
Handlebar.........264.................Cervelo 40cm aerobars
Rear Derailleur...259................SRAM Force 1 Medium Cage
Rear Cassette....257.................SRAM PG-1170, 11-spd, 11-28T
Seat...............245.................Fizik Arione Versus K:ium
Tires...............211.................Continental GP4000SII 23mm (211g for 1 tire; used front and rear)
Seatpost...........196.................Cervel S5 cut to 317mm with seat clamp and wedge
Right Brifter......159.................SRAM Force 22 DoubleTap Control
Rear brake........150.................TriRig Omega X, Flo pads, Cervelo bracket, spacers for fitment